Elements of A Terrific Visualization

Now for a bit of a diversion from the usual topics I have been writing about lately.  I have always been a big fan of a good visualization, and I recently ran across an excellent one here, depicting some of the inputs and outputs that go into left-leaning versus right-leaning political thinkers.  Of course, it is not perfect and of course it makes some simplifications.  But there are two things I like about it:

  • It draws some very interesting basis for different ways of thinking, valuing freedom over equality or vice versa for example.
  • Either “side” looking at the visualization would likely think “I always knew the other side was fundamentally flawed and that I was right all along.”  So it fairly (overall) represents different viewpoints without passing judgement.

This depiction made me think of Minard’s classic 1869 visualization of Naploeon’s land campaign through Russia during 1812-1813.



